2016 | Kollektivet | The Commune

Erik and Anna are an professional couple with a dream. Along with their daughter Freja, they set up a commune in Erik’s huge villa in the upmarket district of Copenhagen. With the family in the center of the story, we are invited into the dream of a real commune; we participate in the house meetings, dinners and parties. It is friendship, love and togetherness under one roof until an earthshattering love affair puts the community and the commune to its greatest test.


Director Thomas Vinterberg

Cinematography Jasper Tøffner

Producer Sisse Graum Jørgensen, Morten Kaufmann

Production Designer Niels Sejer

Costume Design Ellen Lens


Cast Trine Dyrholm, Ulrich Thomsen, Martha Sofie Wallstrøm Hansen, Helena Reingaard Neumann, Lars Ranthe, Fares Fares, Julie Agnete Vang, Anne Grey Henningsen,
Magnus Milang, Sebastian Grønnegaard Milbrat.


Genre Drama

Costumes Period 1970’s

Filming locations Denmark, Sweden



Awards and Nominations


2016Berlin International Film Festival - Germany

Golden Bear Thomas Vinterberg

WonSilver Bear for Best Actress Trine Dyrholm


2016Chicago International Film Festival

Gold Hugo Best Feature Thomas Vinterberg


2016European Film Awards

European Actress Trine Dyrholm

WonEuropean Editor Anne Østerud Janus Billeskov Jansen


2017Robert Festival

WonBest Adapted Screenplay Thomas Vinterberg Tobias Lindholm

WonBest Actress Trine Dyrholm

Best Actor Ulrich Thomsen

Best Film Thomas Vinterberg (director) Sisse Graum Jørgensen (producer)

Morten Kaufmann (producer)

Best Director Thomas Vinterberg

Best Cinematography Jesper Tøffner

Best Production Design Niels Sejer

Best Costume Design Ellen Lens

Best Editing Anne Østerud Janus Billeskov Jansen

Best Sound Anne Jensen Kristian Eidnes Andersen

Best Make-Up Dennis Knudsen


2017Bodil Awards

WonBest Actress Trine Dyrholm

Best Film Thomas Vinterberg

Best Actor Ulrik Thomsen

Best Supporting Actress Martha Sofie Wallstrøm Hansen

Best Supporting Actor Lars Ranthe


2017Montclair Film Festival (MFF)

Narrative Feature Competition Thomas Vinterberg